- Restaurants - Typical Products - Services -
Seggiano, (perhaps from the Latin Seius-anus) spreads over a hillock lapped by various water streams (Vivo, Vetra. Ormena and Matrolla.) The name is mentioned for the first time in a parchment dated 858. Up till 1248 it fell under the jurisdiction of the San Salvatore abbey: later it passed to the Republic of Siena and was subject to the rule of the Ugurgieri and Salimbeni. The medieval center is well kept and quite evocative, ruth its sequence of gates, stairways and fascinating medieval recollections.
In the upper part of Seggiano dominating the central square which hosts the main summer events, is the church of Corpus Domini where, in 1828, the sacred images belonging to the Colombaio convent and the remains of San Bernardino (still jealously kept today) had been transferred. Inside there is a Virgin with San Sebastian of the XVII century, a painting of the Trinity, presumably dating back to the eighteenth century, and a virgin Mary with Child above the wooden choir; there is a wooden Crucifix on the altar and the statues of San Francesco di Paola e dell'Addolorata on the sides.
Seggiano accommodation in Hotel Farm House Farm Holiday Bed&Breakfast Camping Holiday Home Rooms for rent Residence Tourist Village Camp site.
Seggiano holiday in Hotel
Hotels Monte Amiata
Hotels Tuscany Wine Roads