Bagni di Lucca
- Restaurants - Typical Products - Services -
Bagni di Lucca has been so called since 1862. Before then it was called Bagno a Corsena having been known since late roman times. In 1101 the Countess Matilda of Tuscany had the Ponte della Maddalena "The Devil's Bridge" built so that she could reach it from its health-giving springs.
In 1245 the Emperor Frederick II set out to visit it with all his court, while in 1304 the inhabitants of the Spa were exempted from military service so the thermal springs made Bagno a Corsena a European resort and it was christened The Italian Switzerland. Poet, artist and personalities such as Michel de Montaigne, Ippolito d'Este, Vittorio Alfieri, Ferdinad Ill Grand duke of Tuscany, Paolina Borghese, the sister of Napoleon, Metternich, Field Marshall Radestsky, Shelley, Byron, Montesquieu, Puccini, Montale and Toscanini were all found here, taking the waters and planning future activities at leisure.
Today Bagni di Lucca is a charming little Spa town, nestling in the green valley of the river Lima at the foot of the Apennines, which lie between Tuscany and Emilia. This position 1ends to it something of the aspects of a mountain resort in spite of its actual altitude of just less than 500 ft above sea leval. Consisting of three majer centres, Villa, Ponte a Serraglio and Fornoli, it's surrounded by a constellation of villages and hamlets and the whole area is rich in artistic and natural beauties.
Bagni di Lucca accommodation in Hotel Farm House Farm Holiday Bed&Breakfast Camping Holiday Home Rooms for rent Residence Tourist Village Camp site.
Bagni di Lucca holiday in Hotel