The Abruzzi


This is the Italian region which is bounded by the regions Marche, Umbria, Lazio and Molise and faces onto the Adriatic sea.
The western part consists of a plateau hemmed in by outcrops which is fissured by valleys and hollows, and the eastern by hills crossed by numerous water courses flowing down to the sea.
The western part is marked out by an almost continuous series of high mountains – Mount Laga, Gran Sasso, Maiella, the Marsica and Fucensi mountains, mount Velino, mount Calvo, mount Verrico. The eastern zone has a generally rounded profile often cut up by erosion and, not infrequently, of particular grandeur (the calanques of Atri).
The Abruzzi has a harsh climate, snowing frequently on the rocky outcrops but of continental type on the plateaus and hollows with very little precipitation.
The flora (mostly beech) and the original fauna (the ‘Marsicano’ bear, the chamois, the roe deer, the wolf, the fox, the wild cat) are exclusively maintained in the Abruzzi National Park which comprises the upper valley of the Sangro and its surrounding territory. The economy of the Abruzzi is basically agricultural and pastoral, which - owing to the nature of the land and the climate – presents the autumnal and vernal transitions in conjunction with the lowlands of the regions of Puglia and Lazio.